The 2014 Red Ribbon Award Round is open for nominations

Categories: Community Engagement.

During last year’s World AIDS Day, 1 December 2013, UN and civil society partners jointly announced a global call for nominations for the 2014 Red Ribbon Award, intended to promote and support community organizations to respond to the AIDS epidemic.

Nominations will be accepted until 31 January 2014.

The award, which will be presented at the XX International AIDS Conference (AIDS 2014) in Melbourne, Australia, in July 2014, will be given to ten organizations that have shown outstanding community leadership and action on AIDS. Additionally, each recipient of the award will receive a US$10 000 grant.

Awards will be given in the following five categories:

  • Prevention of sexual transmission
  • Prevention among/by people who use drugs
  • Treatment, care and support
  • Advocacy and human rights
  • Stopping new HIV infections in children and keeping mothers alive; women’s health

Representatives of each winning body will present the work of their organization, their priorities, the challenges they faced and their approaches to community engagement in a dialogue space at the AIDS Conference in Melbourne.

Additional information regarding the Red Ribbon Award, the categories and criteria for selection, as well as the on-line nomination facility may be found online on the Red Ribbon Award website,