MedPAC appointments announced

Categories: Uncategorized.

Gene L. Dodaro, Comptroller General of the United States and head of the GAO made the announcement on June 2, 2106.

“MedPAC provides valuable advice to policymakers on key issues relating to Medicare,” Dodaro said. ”GAO received applications from a number of highly qualified candidates interested in serving on the Commission, and I am very pleased to announce this latest round of appointments because the men and women named today will bring an important range of diverse experiences and perspectives to MedPAC.”

The newly appointed members are Amy Bricker, RPh, Vice President, Supply Chain Strategy, Express Scripts, Inc., St. Louis, Missouri ; Brian DeBusk, PhD, CEO, DeRoyal Industries, Powell, Tennessee; Paul Ginsburg, PhD, Leonard Schaeffer Chair in Health Policy Studies, Brookings Institution, Washington, D.C. and Professor of Health Policy, University of Southern California; Bruce Pyenson, FSA, MAAA, Principal and Consulting Actuary, Milliman, Inc. in New York, New York; and Pat Wang, JD, CEO, Healthfirst, New York, New York. Their terms will expire in April 2019.

The reappointed member, whose term will also expire in April 2019, is Jon Christianson, PhD, Professor of Health Policy and Management at the University of Minnesota’s  School of Public Health in Minneapolis, Minnesota. He will continue to serve as Vice Chair.

Congress established MedPAC in 1997 to analyze access to care, cost and quality of care, and other key issues affecting Medicare. MedPAC advises Congress on payments to health plans participating in the Medicare Advantage program and providers in Medicare’s traditional fee-for-service programs. The Comptroller General is responsible for naming new commission members.

Commissioners whose terms will expire in April 2017 are Kathy Buto, MPA; Francis “Jay” Crosson, MD; Willis D. Gradison, Jr., MBA, formerly a Scholar in Residence in the Health Sector Management Program at Duke University’s Fuqua School of Business; William J. Hall, MD, Director of the Center for Healthy Aging at the University of Rochester School of Medicine; and Warner Thomas, MBA, President and CEO of the Ochsner Health System in New Orleans, Louisiana.

Commissioners whose terms will expire in April 2018  are Alice Coombs, MD, Critical Care Specialist and Anesthesiologist, South Shore Hospital, Weymouth, Massachusetts; Jack Hoadley, PhD, Research Professor, Health Policy Institute, Georgetown University, Washington, DC; David Nerenz, PhD, Director of the Center for Health Policy and Health Services Research, Henry Ford Health System, Detroit, Michigan; Rita Redberg, MD, Professor, Clinical Medicine, University of California at San Francisco Medical Center, San Francisco, California; and Craig Samitt, MD, Global Provider Practice Leader in Oliver Wyman’s Health & Life Sciences Practice.

Brief biographies of the new commission members are included in the press release on the GAO website.


The Government Accountability Office, known as the investigative arm of Congress, is an independent, nonpartisan agency that exists to support Congress in meeting its constitutional responsibilities. GAO also works to improve the performance of the federal government and ensure its accountability to the American people. The agency examines the use of public funds; evaluates federal programs and policies; and provides analyses, recommendations, and other assistance to help Congress make informed oversight, policy, and funding decisions. GAO provides Congress with timely information that is objective, fact-based, nonideological, fair, and balanced. GAO’s commitment to good government is reflected in its core values of accountability, integrity, and reliability.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *