Nominations now open for the 2016 International Health Workforce Awards

Categories: Leadership.

This will be the 3rd edition of the Awards, the first and second of which were celebrated at the Second & Third Global Forums on Human Resources for Health, in Bangkok (2011) and Recife (2013) respectively.

The 2016 edition will be a unique opportunity to reward and celebrate the exceptional contribution of health workers and other key HRH stakeholders at the upcoming World Health Assembly, and promises to be a major highlight of the Assembly

Award categories

The awards will be given under the following categories:

  • leadership/ministerial
  • emergency responders
  • community health care
  • HRH champions/advocates
  • journalists.

Award for leadership/ministerial 

This category will recognise national leadership (government ministers, senior government officials) in advancing innovative strategies that support HRH strengthening at the national level. The candidates should demonstrate success in scaling up HRH efforts for the achievement of universal health coverage.

Award for emergency responders 

With at least three years’ experience in serving on the frontlines, this category will recognise health workers on the frontlines who have provided millions of people with humanitarian health care. We are looking for health workers (doctors, nurses, midwives, community health workers, and others) who have shown extraordinary commitment in providing health care services to local populations in emergency settings.

Awards for community health care

This category will recognise individuals (health worker cadres, community activists, district health managers, NGO workers) who have ensured access to health care in remote and hard-to-reach communities and have demonstrated a significant impact on community health care.

Awards for HRH champions/advocates

This category will recognise prominent individuals within the health community, who have championed the cause of health workers, successfully influenced political agendas, and contributed to raising awareness on health workforce issues globally.

Awards for journalists 

This category is for journalists, photographers, editors, and reporters who have extensively and effectively contributed to highlighting health workforce issues in media using various formats. Whether through print, video, audio or interactive online, we are looking for demonstrated excellence in using the media to bring these issues to the forefront.

Guidelines for submission and timelines

Candidates must be nominated by a third party (HRH departments or organizations, faith-based organisations, civil society, professional associations, UN agencies, GHWA members etc.) by completing a nomination form.

Candidates who nominate themselves will not be considered. There are no restrictions on the number of nominations made by the nominating party. One form must be completed for each nomination.

Submissions will be accepted in English and French, until 10 March 2016. Submissions should be sent to with “AWARDS” in the subject line.

After the nominations period is over, a panel (comprising GHWA Executive Director and select Board members) will review all entries against predefined criteria and decide the winners in each of the five award categories.

Winners will be invited to speak to their achievements at the International Health Workforce Awards ceremony, which will be held during the World Health Assembly in Geneva in May 2016.

These are non-monetary awards. Winners will receive a certificate and a trophy of recognition. Winners will also receive travel support to attend the ceremony.

  • Deadline for submissions – 10 March2016
  • Selection panel decision – 5 April 2016
  • Notification to winner – 7 April 2016
  • Award ceremony – Week of 23 May 2016 (exact date to be confirmed shortly).

Find out more on the World Health Organization website

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *