IJPN awards ceremony 2013

Categories: People & Places and Uncategorized.

The black tie event began with a champagne reception and dinner, before the ceremony was officially opened with a talk by Professor Irene Higginson, Scientific Director of Cicely Saunders International.

The aim of the IJPN awards is to recognise excellence in palliative care, with nominations received from all over the world. This was a great opportunity to acknowledge the work being done in palliative care internationally, and to share this good practice with others in the field. 

According to IJPN: “There is an enormous amount to celebrate, with outstanding work being carried out in all parts of the world, and the submissions we receive are a wonderful demonstration of quality, dedication and innovation in service to patients.”

A panel of well-respected judges assess the entries, paying particular attention to initiative and enterprise. The care of patients must also be paramount.

The awards categories reflect the range of activities and individuals involved in delivering high quality care to patients.

Winners of the awards were as follows:

Educator of the year – sponsored by CME Medical

First prize – Professor Hyun Sook Kim, Department of Social Welfare, Korea National University of Transportation, Republic of Korea
Second prize – Franciscah Ndayiziveyi Tsikai, Island Hospice Service, Zimbabwe
Third prize – Dr Lisa Boulstridge, Heart of England NHS Trust, England

Development award

First prize – Palliative Care Team, Harriet Benson Memorial Hospital, Lalitpur, Uttar Pradesh, India
Second prize – Dr Sayaka Takenouchi, Kyoto University Graduate School of Medicine, Japan
Third prize – Valerie Peacock, Northern Ireland Children’s Hospice, Northern Ireland

Non-Cancer award

First prize – Dr Hattie Roebuck, Jaryn Go and Breeda McManus, St Joseph’s Hospice, Hackney, England and Barts Health

Multidisciplinary teamwork award
First prize – Bradford Teaching Hospitals Foundation Trust Palliative Care Team, Bradford, England
Second prize – Milton Keynes Hospital Palliative Care Team, Milton Keynes, England
Third prize – DNIPCARE (Delhites, National Initiative In Palliative Care), Delhi, India

Service user/carer/volunteer of the year

First prize – David Purdham, volunteer, St Richard’s Hospice, Worcester, England
Second prize – Doris Nikeziwe Cele, Maskey Health Services, Umlazi, South Africa
Third prize – Joan Smith, patient and educator, Manchester, England

Palliative care nurse of the year – sponsored by TEVA

First prize – Irena Laska, Mary Potter Hospice, Korce, Albania
Second prize – Imelda King, Nuffield Health Guildford Hospital, Guildford, England
Third prize – Vanessa Gibson, St Richard’s Hospice, Worcester, England

Lifetime Achievement Award

Claire Henry, National Director, National End of Life Care Programme, England.

A description of each award category and the work being done by the prize winners can be found on the IJPN awards website. 

Read more about Indian winners on the India edition of ehospice. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *