Call for Nominations: 2023 Circle of Life Award

Categories: Featured, In The Media, and Leadership.

The nomination period for the 2023 Circle of Life Award is now open. 

Put your program in the national spotlight! The Circle of Life Award honors innovative palliative and end-of-life care in hospices, hospitals, health care systems, long-term care facilities, and other direct care providers.

“In my role at NHPCO, I see the innovative work being done at hospice and community-based palliative care programs throughout our membership and there are any number that deserve the national recognition that the Circle of Life Award brings,” said Edo Banach, NHPCO president and CEO. “We have also heard from our members that the process of submitting a nomination has led to an unexpected sense of satisfaction and accomplishment. So, I encourage hospices to consider nominating their exemplary programs.”

Important Dates:

  • May 31: Part 1 application due to
  • June 23 – 28: Applicants notified of invitations to complete Part 2. Applicants who are not selected to complete Part 2 also will be notified at this time.
  • August 15: Part 2 applications due to
  • September 26 – 28: Applicants selected for site visits will be notified.
  • May 2023: Circle of Life Award and Citation of Honor recipients will be notified.

Download the application form from the AHA Circle of Life website:

Administered by the American Hospital Association, the 2022 Circle of Life Awards: Celebrating Innovation in Palliative and End-of-Life Care are funded, in part, by the Cambia Health Foundation. The National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization and the National Hospice Foundation are major sponsors of the 2022 awards that include the American Hospital Association and the Catholic Health Association. The awards are cosponsored by the American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine, the Center to Advance Palliative Care, the Hospice & Palliative Nurses Association/the Hospice & Palliative Credentialing Center/the Hospice & Palliative Nurses Foundation and the National Association of Social Workers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *