NHPCO welcomes new board chair for 2015

Categories: Leadership.

The National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization is proud to welcome Linda Rock as chair of the organization’s board of directors. The past Executive Director of Prairie Haven Hospice in Scottsbluff, Neb., Rock has previously served as NHPCO vice-chair and as a member of the board’s executive committee.

Joining Rock on the board’s executive committee are J. Donald Schumacher, president and CEO; Jan Jones, vice-chair, of The Elizabeth Hospice in Escondido, Calif.; Sandy Kuhlman, secretary, of Hospice Services in Phillipsburg, Kan.; and John Thoma, treasurer, of Transitions LifeCare in Raleigh N.C.

Ron Fried, of VITAS Innovative Healthcare, based in Miami, Fla., will continue to serve this year as immediate past chair.

Additional members of the NHPCO executive committee are Betsy Clark, former president and CEO of the National Association of Social Workers, Washington, DC; Mark Murray of the Center for Hospice Care in South Bend, Ind.; Linda Todd of Hospice of Siouxland in Sioux City, Iowa; and Greg Wood of Hospice of the Ozarks in Mountain Home, Ark.

Elected by the NHPCO membership to join the board in 2015 are Lori Bishop of UnityPoint at Home, Urbandale, Iowa; Regina Bodnar of Gilchrist Hospice Care in Hunt Valley, Md.; and Daniel Maison of Spectrum Health Hospice and Palliative Care in Grand Rapids, Mich.

Re-elected to serve second terms on the board are Kenneth Zeri of Hospice Hawaii, Inc. in Honolulu and SueAnn Reynolds of Family LifeCare in Berne, Ind.

Members of the board serving in appointed board seats who have been reappointed to serve an additional term are: Sandy Kuhlman, as a sphere of influence representative; Sharon Baxter as international representative from the Canadian Hospice Palliative Care Association; and David Praill as an international observer from Hospice U.K. 

“We are proud to have such an experienced group of hospice and palliative care professional so willing to work on behalf of end-of-life care in this country serving as members of the board of directors,” said J. Donald Schumacher, president and CEO of NHPCO. “Board members represent many diverse programs that reflect the nation’s broad hospice and palliative care community – yet we all share a common goal to improve care at the end of life.”

NHPCO extends special thanks to the board members who concluded service in 2014: Kavin Cartmell of Hospice of Hope in Maysville, Ky.; Susan Lloyd of Delaware Hospice, Inc. in Wilmington Del.; Michael Nisco of Saint Agnes Home Health and Hospice in Fresno, Calf.; and Russell Portenoy of Beth Israel Medical Center in New York City.

NHPCO is the largest nonprofit, leadership organization representing hospice and palliative care programs and professionals in the United States. The organization is committed to improving end of life care and expanding access to hospice care with the goal of profoundly enhancing quality of life for people dying in America and their loved ones.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *